Places of Interest
Autumn Colours

Farmleigh House and Gardens, Phoenix Park, Dublin

16th September 2013

Camera Lens Focal Length Shutter speed Iso Aperture Additional details
Canon 6d Canon70-200mm


200



 


 
Phoenix Park

Phoenix Park, Dublin

15th September 2013

Camera Lens Focal Length Shutter speed Iso Aperture Additional details
Canon 6d Canon70-200mm


200




 

 
Sunday Stroll
Sunday Stroll

Phoenix Park, Dublin

15th September 2013

Camera Lens Focal Length Shutter speed Iso Aperture Additional details
Canon 6d Canon70-200mm


200




 

 
Deer in the Park
Deer in the Park

Phoenix Park, Dublin

15th September 2013

Camera Lens Focal Length Shutter speed Iso Aperture Additional details
Canon 6d Canon70-200mm


200




 

 
In the Garden
In the Garden

Farmleigh House and Gardens,Phoenix Park, Dublin

15th September 2013

Camera Lens Focal Length Shutter speed Iso Aperture Additional details
Canon 6d Canon70-200mm


200



 


 

 
Marino Casino

Marino Casino

Marino, Dublin

t8th September 2013

Camera Lens Focal Length Shutter speed Iso Aperture Additional details
Canon 6d Canon24-70mm


200



 


 

 
Shell House,

Shell House, Ballymaloe Gardens

Ballymaloe gardens, Shanagarry, County Cork

14th August2013

Camera Lens Focal Length Shutter speed Iso Aperture Additional details
Canon 6d Canon70-200


200
f2.8


 


 

 
Rock of Cashel

Rock of Cashel

Cashel, County Tipperary

12th August2013

Camera Lens Focal Length Shutter speed Iso Aperture Additional details
Canon 6d Canon70-200


200
f2.8


 


 

 
Tacumshane Windmill

Tacumshane Windmill

16th August 2012

Tacumshane, County Wexford

This is one of the last 3 intact windmills in Ireland of a type known as a "Tower Mill". It was built by Nicholas Moran in 1846 and was rethatched in 1908.  Used up till 1936, it was reconstructed in 1952.  The long arm with a wheel on the end of it was used to turn the conical cap of the mill so that the sails faced the wind. It is a feature common in early windmills

Camera Lens Focal Length Shutter speed Iso Aperture Additional details
Canon 5d Canon17-40mm
17mm
1/320
200
f11


 


 

 
Tacumshane Windmill-B n W

Tacumshane Windmill

16th August 2012

Tacumshane, County Wexford

This is one of the last 3 intact windmills in Ireland of a type known as a "Tower Mill". It was built by Nicholas Moran in 1846 and was rethatched in 1908.  Used up till 1936, it was reconstructed in 1952.  The long arm with a wheel on the end of it was used to turn the conical cap of the mill so that the sails faced the wind. It is a feature common in early windmills

Camera Lens Focal Length Shutter speed Iso Aperture Additional details
Canon 5d Canon17-40mm
17mm
1/320
200
f11


 


 

 
Beaulieu House, County Louth

Beaulieu House.

3rd December 2011

I took a trip out to Beaulieu House today to take a few shots of St Peters male voice choir performing some Christmas Carols

Beaulieu House is a 17th Century house and gardens with a collection of classic racing cars.

Beaulieu House is situated on the north bank of the river Boyne between Drogheda and the Irish Sea.  The estate was originally owned by the 'St. Oliver' brabch of the Plunkett family and was acquired about 1650 by Sir Henry Tichbourne, who was Marshall of the Army in Ireland and Governor General of Droghead at the time of the Restoration of Charles11.

Beaulieu House was turned into the house we see today by the Tichbournes in the mid17th and early 18th Century and has remained largely unchanged since.

Originally a stone Plunkett Castle, the present structure is a mixture of brick and stone which was rendered in the late 19th Century, leaving exposed the Dutch brick surrounds to windows and doors.  The dutch style is unique in Ireland.

The walled garden is believed to have been designed by Dutch artist Willem Van Der Hagen, who settled in Ireland in the 1720s, and is one of the earliest examples of a walled garden in Ireland.

Gabriel DeFreitas. the current owner of Beaulieu House , is a tenth generation descendant of Henry Tichbourne.  There is a museum on site which displays a collection of classic racing cars and memorabilia.  There are guided tours of the house, four-acre walled garden and museum.

The current owner of the house, Gabriel BeFreitas had a very successful career in motor racing in the 1960s and 1970s under the name of Gabriel Konig.

Canon EOS 50D / Canon 17-40 lens @ 17mm / f5 /1/1000sec / iso100

 

 

 


 
Beaulieu House2

Beaulieu House.

3rd December 2011

I took a trip out to Beaulieu House today to take a few shots of St Peters male voice choir performing some Christmas Carols.

This is the ceiling in the drawing room, and as you can see the 3D effect of the painting is stunning, and very realistic

Beaulieu House is a 17th Century house and gardens with a collection of classic racing cars.

Beaulieu House is situated on the north bank of the river Boyne between Drogheda and the Irish Sea.  The estate was originally owned by the 'St. Oliver' brabch of the Plunkett family and was acquired about 1650 by Sir Henry Tichbourne, who was Marshall of the Army in Ireland and Governor General of Droghead at the time of the Restoration of Charles11.

Beaulieu House was turned into the house we see today by the Tichbournes in the mid17th and early 18th Century and has remained largely unchanged since.

Originally a stone Plunkett Castle, the present structure is a mixture of brick and stone which was rendered in the late 19th Century, leaving exposed the Dutch brick surrounds to windows and doors.  The dutch style is unique in Ireland.

The walled garden is believed to have been designed by Dutch artist Willem Van Der Hagen, who settled in Ireland in the 1720s, and is one of the earliest examples of a walled garden in Ireland.

Gabriel DeFreitas. the current owner of Beaulieu House , is a tenth generation descendant of Henry Tichbourne.  There is a museum on site which displays a collection of classic racing cars and memorabilia.  There are guided tours of the house, four-acre walled garden and museum.

The current owner of the house, Gabriel BeFreitas had a very successful career in motor racing in the 1960s and 1970s under the name of Gabriel Konig.

Canon EOS 50D / Canon50mm lens / f2.8 / 1/30sec / iso200

 

 


 
Carton House, Maynooth, County Kildare

Carton House, Maynooth.

3rd November 2011

Eoghan and Annraoi were playing in a golf competition here today.  They hit the fairways while I took some shots.

See some more photos here

Carton House was one of Ireland's greatest stately homes and one time ancestral seat of the Earls of Kildare and Dukes of Leinster. Located 14 miles west of Dublin, in Maynooth, County Kildare, the Carton demesne runs to 1,100 acres . For two hundred years it possessed the finest example in Ireland of a Georgian-created parkland landscape. In the 2000s much of the estate was redeveloped into two golf courses and the house into a hotel complex.

Carton House Golf Club has two courses, one designed by Mark O'Meara and opened in 2002, the other designed by Colin Montgomerie and opened in 2003. The former is a parkland course, utilising the rolling land of the estate as well as the waters of the River Rye, while the latter features head high pot bunkers, "fast-running" greens and narrow fairways.

Carton House was the venue for the European Tour's Nissan Irish Open in 2005 and 2006, having previously hosted the 2004 and 2005 AIB Amateur Open Championship. In 2006, Carton House was the first Irish golf club to be awarded the 'Committed to Green' environmental award by the International Committed to Green Foundation, and the International Association of Golf Tour Operators, European Golf Resort of the Year 2008.

Golfing Union of Ireland:  The Golfing Union of Ireland, the longest established golf union in the world, have their national headquarters on the estate. This facility also comprises the GUI National Academy, a 22-acre  teaching facility for up and coming golfers, as well as being a facility available to all golfers in Ireland.

 

 


 

 
Powerscourt House and Gardens, County Wicklow

Powerscourt House and Gardens, County Wicklow

20th April 2011

Took a spin down here with Annraoi.  It was his first time here, and he loved it.

Powerscourt gardens are one of the worlds great gardens.   They are situated 20km south of Dublin in the foothills of the Wicklow mountains.   The gardens were begun by Richard Wingfield, Viscount powerscourt in the 1740,s.  
The word garden belies the magnitude of this creation which stretches out over 47 acres. It is a sublime blend of formal gardens, sweeping terraces, statuary and ornamental lakes together with secret hollows, rambling walks, walled gardens and over 200 varieties of trees and shrubs.
many trees native to North America are planted in the gardens (around pepper pot tower )

Canon EOS 50D / CanonEF 17-40 lens @ 40mm / 1/40sec / f14 / iso200

 

 


 
Killruddery House and Gardens, County Wicklow

Killruddery House and Gardens, County Wicklow

 

 

 


 
Trim Castle, County Meath

Trim Castle, County Meath

April 9th 2011

Trim Castle is the largest, best-preserved and most impressive Anglo-Norman castle in Ireland.   Trim gets its name from the Irish Ath Truim , meaning 'The Ford of the Elder Trees', indicating that this was an important fording point on the River Boyne.  Such was the significance of this crossingpoint that by the fifth century a chieftain's dun (fort) and an early monastery were sited here.

In 1172, shortly after the arrival of the Anglo-Normans in Ireland, King Henry 11 granted Hugh de Lacy the Kingdom of Meath, along with custody of Dublin.  The king feared that Strongbow (Richard de Clare ) might set up a rival Anglo-Norman kingdom in Ireland.

For strategic reasons, de Lacy decided to make Trim, rather than Drogheda, the centre of his newly acquired lordship.  De Lacy converted a ringfort into a wooden castle with a spiked stockade.  This structure was seen as a threat by the Gaelic Irish  and in 1174 Rory O'Connor, King of Connacht  (and last High King of Ireland), attacked and it was destroyed.  The following year work began on a more permanent stone replacement and over the following decades Hugh de Lacy (d 1186 ) and his son Walter constructed the largest Anglo-Norman castle in Europe.

Initially a stone keep, or tower, replaced the wooden fortification.  The keep was remodelled and then surrounded by curtain walls and a moat.  The wall, punctuated by several towers and a gatehouse, fortified an area of about 3 acres.  Most of the castle visible today was completed by 1220.

The unique twenty-sided cruciform design of the keep (with walls 3m thick) is an example of the experimental military architecture of the period.  It served as both the domestic and adninistrative centre of the castle.  By 1500 much of Ireland was back in the hands of Gaelic Chieftains and the territory under English control had been reduced to an area around Dublin, known as 'The Pale'.  By this time Trim Castle was in decline, however, it remained an important outpost protecting the northwestern frontier of The Pale.

Over the centuries Trim Castle was adapted to suit the domestic needs of its owners and the changing political climate.  However, much of its fabric has remained unchanged since the height of the Anglo-Norman power in Ireland.  Even today when standing within the walls of the castle visitors can get the sense of security that would have been felt by the de Lacy family in a hostile landscape.  Although standing outside the walls you can sense the intimidation that must surely have been felt by the native population.

Trim Castle served as a 'castle double' for York Castle in Mel Gibson's 1996 Oscar-winning movie Braveheart.

( with thanks to Discover Ireland, Boyne Valley Guide for much of the above info )

 

Myself and Annraoi spent a very enjoyable day over in Trim on Danny O'Briens Memorial Photowalk.   It was an all day event, and we finished up that night in the grounds of Trim Castle where Chinese Lanterns were released into the night sky in Danny's memory.

Canon EOS 50D / Canon 17-40 zoom lens @ 40mm / f7.1 / 10s / iso200